The Story of Souths


The team that would become the mighty Souths Logan Magpies were one of the original teams (only one now left) to compete in the first Brisbane premiership in 1909 as South Brisbane. Also playing at Davies Park and representing the area was West End who won in 1913.

At the end of World War 1 South Brisbane’s name was changed to Carltons (a name used for a locality around the area). The ‘West End Boys’ as they were known, were a formidable team. They won the First Grade Premiership in 1921, 1925 and 1930, were runners-up in 1928 and won the Club Championship in 1931.

The Carltons’ Second Grade team won the silverware in 1924, 1929, 1931 and 1932, while the Third Grade team were victorious in 1922.

In 1933, the Carltons became Southern Suburbs. Carltons and Souths were known as the Lions up until 1959 when they were dubbed the Magpies.

Carltons and Souths have won the Minor Premiership 11 times (1921, 28, 30, 49, 51, 53, 81, 85 & 88, 2009, 2010).

In addition to the West End premiership of 1913 and the three premierships of Carltons (1921, 25, 30), as Souths they have won the Premiership 7 times (1945, 49, 51, 53, 81, 85, 2008).

As Souths they have been were runners-up 8 times (1942, 47, 63, 79, 80, 82, 84 & 96), and won the Club Championship 6 times (1946, 48, 80, 83, 84, 93).

Other illustrious trophies include a Chairman’s Trophy (1993), four Presidents Cups, four Peter Hickey Cups, three Pike Cups, two Peter Scott Memorial Trophies, two Pre-Season Trophies, a Kaye Cup, Vic Jensen Cup, Redcap Cup and a 4IP Cup in 1972.

To be so victorious, The Magpies must have had some quality players and their playing roster reads like a Who’s Who of Rugby League. While playing at Souths, the following players achieved Representative Honours.

Mal Meninga, Bill Tyquin , Mick Crocker, Frank Drake, Peter Jackson, Harry Bath, Greg Veivers, Gary Belcher, Bob Lindner, Chris Phelan, John Grant, Wayne Bennett

South Brisbane (1908-1918), Carltons (1919 –1932), Southern Suburbs (1933-2002), Souths Logan Magpies (2003 – Current)

Davies Park, West End

Magpie (Lions up until 1959)

First Grade (# denotes Carltons)
1913 (West End), 1921 (#), 1925 (#), 1930 (#), 1945, 1949, 1951, 1953, 1981, 1985, 2008

1931 (#), 1946, 1948, 1980, 1983, 1984, 1993, 2008

Bruce Astill, Peter Jackson, Bob Kellaway, Bob Lindner, Mal Meninga (captain), Chris Phelan, Brad Tessman

Australian Internationals (17): Harold ‘Mick’ Crocker, Frank Drake, Harry Fewin (Carltons), John Grant, John Grice, Alan Hornery, Reg Kay, Mal Meninga, Jim Murphy, Claud O’Donnell (Carltons), Len Pegg, Brad Tessmann, Alan Thompson, Bill Tyquin, Tom Tyquin, Greg Veivers, Mick Veivers

Test Captains (3): Bill Tyquin, Greg Veivers, Mal Meninga (was with Canberra when made captain)

Biggest Win:   78-8 v Norths in 2008 (Round 21) at Davies Park
In C Grade 145-0 v East Fallon Boys Club in 1956/57(?) at New Farm Park Oval. Bob Friswell scored 62 points for Souths, every player except  Souths fullback (who only had one arm) scored for Souths.

Biggest Defeat:   76-0 v Burleigh 2003 at Pizzey Park

Hall of Fame
Team of the Century
Respecting the Past, Embracing the Present and Excited for the Future.

Affiliate Club

Contact Us

Site By Roundhouse

Respecting the Past, Embracing the Present and Excited for the Future.

Affiliate Club

Contact Us

Site By Roundhouse