About Us

Souths Logann Magpies Logo

The Rugby League club that is now called the Souths Logan Magpies formed as South Brisbane in 1908 and is the only surviving club from the first Brisbane Rugby League competition. We still compete at the highest level of Queensland Rugby League: the Intrust Super Cup – and we pride ourselves on our values of Excellence, Family, and Community. We are a feeder club for the Brisbane Broncos in the National Rugby League.

Our home ground, Davies Park, has evolved through many purposes since 1901 and we have shared it with other sports including racing, speedway, cricket, and soccer. It was the destination of the first tram line in Brisbane, and until the 1970s had public baths down by the river.

Composite picture of Karyn Murphy and Mal Meninga each playing for Souths and Australia.

Our long, proud history has had its share of ups and downs, and our Team of the Century reflects this, with members from throughout the Rugby League era. Some of the greatest players to lace up a boot have worn the Magpies colours and we are glad they found a home at the Magpies.

Inside Souths Leagues Club, our display cabinet records some of that history and the people who made it happen. Our Women’s Hall of Fame wall pays tribute to more recent achievements. You can view some of these moments in our Photo Gallery and our Video Gallery. Many more outstanding years lie ahead of us in years to come and we invite you to become a part of the Magpies’ future.

To stay in touch with Souths Logan Magpies’ latest, please buy a membership, become a sponsor, subscribe to our email list, or like our Facebook page. We’d love to see you at a home game soon …

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *