The Mighty Magpies are back at Davies Park this Sunday to take on the PNG Hunters! The last time these two teams went head to head was Round 7 when the Magpies came away with the win. Can they do it again? It’s our second last home game of the season, make sure you don’t miss it!

Match Preview
Head-to-Head: PNG 8 Souths Logan 1
Twitter: #intrustsupercup #SLMvPNG

  • Another vitally important game in the context of the upcoming finals with both sides needing to win to keep their hopes alive.
  • When they met earlier this season, the Magpies became the first times to win in PNG this year when they recorded a 20-12 result in Round 7
  • The Hunters have only recorded one away win this year, so will be looking to keep their recent run at Davies Park alive where they have won their past four games.
  • Including their close loss against the Blackhawks last weekend; Souths Logan have lost seven of their past eight games and have dropped out of the top six for the first time since Round 4.
  • In the past few weeks, two Hunters players have recorded key milestones, with skipper Ase Boas now the top point scorer for the Hunters passing Noel Zeming (442) with 449 (including 10 points in NRL State Championship final). Last weekend, Adex Wera also became the first player to score 50 tries for the Hunters (including 1 in the NRL State Championship final).

Intrust Super Cup | Davies Park| Sunday 5th August
Souths v PNG Hunters 3pm


Souths Logan Magpies

1. Corey Allan
2. Benaiah Bowie
3. Marion Seve
4. Dan Russell
5. Paul Rokolati
6. Guy Hamilton
7. Sam Scarlett
8. George Fai
9. Travis Waddell
10. Thomas Flegler
11. Brendon Gibb
12. Patrick Mago
13. Phil Dennis (c)
14. Manaia Cherrington
15. Sam Lavea
16. Daniel Tamou
17. Simi Fatafehi

PNG Hunters

1. Edene Gebbie 2. Junior Rau 3. Thompson Teteh 4. Adex Wera 5. Brendon Gotuno 6. Ase Boas (c) 7. Watson Boas 8. Enock Maki 9. Wartovo Puara 10. Moses Meninga 11. Row Nixon Putt 12. Willie Minoga 13. Stanton Albert 14. Charlie Simon 15. Ila Alu 16. Mekenzie Yei 17. Dilbert Issac 18. Butler Morris 19. Patrick Morea 20. Silas Gahuna

Coach: Michael Marum

game times | all grades

Sunday 5th aug

Brisbane Rugby League A-Grade | Davies Park | Saturday 5th August
Souths v Diehards 1.10pm



1. Javarn White 2. Henry Pritchard 3. David Pritchard 4. Cameron Booth 5. Luke Archer 6. Sato Ketia-Opo 7. Dray Ngatuere-Wroe 8. Rhys Melville 9. Savaan Tahere 10. Will Samuel 11. Matty Brown 12. Justin Fai 13. Sam Elliott 14. Tanah Boyd 15. Jesse Matafeo 16. Cody Mc Intosh 17. Jordan Mago

Coach: Steve Bretherton


1. Gerome Burns 2. Tom Collins 3. John Collins 4. Callum Klein 5. Stacey Everitt 6. Brett Doherty 7. Gary Riccardi 8. Stephen Coombe 9. Chris Aiton 10. Liam Herrington 11. Iain Riccardi 12. Moses Noovao-Mc Greal 13. Dalton Phillips 14. Jordon Mitchell 15. Mattais Heimuli 16. Jacob Kelly 17. Regan Glynn

Coach: Don Gailer

Hastings Deering Colts U20’s | BYE ROUND