We are calling all current, past players & supporters to get down to Davies Park, Sunday the 29th of July to help us celebrate the Magpies & now the games highest capped player Phil Dennis. As he plays his 271st Queensland Cup record-breaking game, in the 24yr history of the competition.

The club is so proud of one of its favourite sons & it’s fitting that we all gather at Davies Park in a tribute to one of the Magpies greatest ever players. Phil Dennis has worn the Magpies Jersey for the past 13yrs, captaining the side since 2009.

Phily D has always worn the Magpie jersey with great pride & his passion & inspiration to the team & indeed the younger players is a testament to his great character & will to win.

In his 13yrs as a Magpie, it’s never been about Phil, it’s always been about the Jersey his Teammates and getting the Job done. That’s why it’s important that we are all there for Phil on the 29th, to cheer on one of the greatest Magpies ever.


Head-to-Head: Townsville 3 Souths-Logan 2
Twitter: #intrustsupercup #SLMvTSVB

  • All eyes will be on Magpies skipper Phil Dennis, who becomes the competition’s most capped player. It will be his 271st game, eclipsing Dolphins great Troy Lindsay (270).
  • In their first meeting this year, Townsville got home 38-14 at Jack Manski Oval.
  • Dennis’ personal milestone coincides with a massive afternoon for the club. Not only is it Old Boys Day, but it is the club’s 500th Cup game; they have won 192, drawn 14 and lost 293.
  • The Magpies are in a worrying slump, having lost six of their past seven games.
  • Townsville in contrast are on a roll, winning six games over the same period to be one of the favourites for this year’s premiership.
  • Jaelen Feeney, Jonathon Reuben and Kalifa Faifai-Loa all posted doubles in the big win over Tweed Heads last weekend.

*Statistics by Brad Tallon


Souths Logan Magpies

1. Corey Allan
2. Benaiah Bowie
3. Marion Seve
4. Dan Russell
5. Corey Allan
6. Guy Hamilton
7. Sam Scarlett
8. George Fai
9. Travis Waddell
10. Thomas Flegler
11. Brendon Gibb
12. Simi Fatafehi
13. Phil Dennis (c)
14. Manaia Cherrington
15. Sam Lavea
16. Daniel Tamou
17. Rhys Melville

Townsville Blackhawks

1. Carlin Anderson 2. Jonathon Reuben 3. Shaun Hudson 4. Levi Dodd 5. Kalifa Faifai-Loa 6. Zach Clay 7. Jaelen Feeney 8. Francis Molo 9. Krys Freeman 10. Rod Griffin 11. Jake Marketo 12. Temone Power 13. Joe Boyce 14. Daniel Beasley 15. Brenden Santi 16. Andrew Davey 17. Sione Lousi

Coach: Kristian Woolf

Intrust Super Cup | Davies Park| Sunday 29th July
Souths v Blackhawks 3pm

game times | all grades

Saturday 28th July

Brisbane Rugby League A-Grade | Dolphin Oval | Saturday 28th July
Souths v Dolphins 3pm

Sunday 29th July

Hastings Deering Colts U20’s | Davies Park | Sunday 29th July
Souths v Townsville 3pm

Souths Logan Magpies
1. Thane Kellermeyer 2. Tommy Sa’u 3. Ioane Seiuli 4. Kye Oates 5. Ashton Watson 6. Dray Ngatuere-Wroe 7. Tanah Boyd 8. Kobe Tararo 9. Blake Scott 19. Rory Ferguson (c) 11. Clayton Uia 12. Luke Burton 13. Clayton Mack 14. BJ Oates 15. Jacob Alick 16. Bruce Ten 17. Emosi Tuqiri

Coach: Shane Boyd

Townsville Blackhawks
1. Michael Carroll 2. James Conroy 3. Tom McCagh 4. Lachlan La Rosa 5. Jake Riley 6. Sam Martin (c) 7. Adam Cook 8. Jayden Stephens 9. Curtis Dempsey 10. Logan Bayliss 11. Campbell Duffy 12. Nathan Barrett 13. Tom Gilbert 14. Enemarki Shibasaki 15. Jack Althaus 16. Ben Condon 17. Will Fox 18. Lance Folbigg

Coach: David Tangata-Toa