The Redcliffe Dolphins fought back from a 16-0 deficit to record a 34-28 come-from-behind victory in an entertaining match against Souths Logan yesterday.

The Magpies raced out their early lead scoring three straight tries, with the first coming via PNG representative Matt Trnka out wide. The next was thanks to young half Ashley Taylor on his Intrust Super Cup debut; with the Brisbane Broncos Under 20 star muscling his way over the line.

He played an impressive first half and a hand in the next try, with Scott Doyle diving on his kick ahead into the in goal.

However, that was it in the half for the Magpies with the Dolphins mounting their comeback midway through the first half.

The Phins first try was scored by winger Curtis Johnston before Josh Benjamin crashed over soon after. Their third try, to Residents representative Aaron Whitchurch, saw scores draw level 16-16 right before halftime.

Darcy Etrich scored the easiest of tries for the Dolphins at the resumption of the second half – darting over from dummy half untouched, before Dallas Anderson continued the see-sawing pattern of the match with a try for the Magpies to again level this scores – this time to 22-22.

However – it was again the Magpies poor defence close to the line that cost them late in the game, with first half John Brady shrugging off defenders and then Shane Pumipi crossing in quick succession to put the visitors out to a 34-22 lead.

A try to a charging Mitch Garbutt just before fulltime gave the Magpies their fifth try for the match – but it was too late.

REDCLIFFE DOLPHINS 34 (Curtis Johnston, Aaron Whitchurch, John Brady, Shane Pumipi, Josh Benjamin, Darcy Etrich tries; Luke Capewell 5 goals) def SOUTHS LOGAN MAGPIES 28 (Dallas Anderson, Matt Trnka, Ashley Taylor, Scott Doyle, Mitch Garbutt tries; Scott Doyle 4 goals) at Davies Park.

Final Teams:

Souths Logan Magpies: 1. Josh Damen 2. Samisoni Vaioleti 3. Dallas Anderson 4. Tim Brooks 5. Matt Trnka 6. Jack Joass 7. Ashley Taylor 8. Sam Gardel 9. Travis Waddell 10. Andrew Edwards 11. Scott Doyle 12. Dan Tamou 13. Phil Dennis (c) 14. Herschel Gideon 15. Joe Boyce 16. Mitch Garbutt 17. Aotealofa Tuimavave

Redcliffe Dolphins: 1. Josh Beehag 2. Curtis Johnston 3. Tristan Lumley 4. Aaron Whitchurch 5. Tom Opacic 6. John Brady 7. Luke Capewell (c) 8. Charlie Faingaa 21. Shane Pumipi 19. Josh Rudolph 11. Josh Benjamin 12. Anthony Cherrington 13. Trent Richardson 14. Darcy Etrich 15. Tom Geraghty 16. Harley Aiono 17. Taylor Brown


cq5dam.web.1280.1284 cq5dam.web.1280.1283 cq5dam.web.1280.1282 cq5dam.web.1280.1281