Day: August 31, 2017

A word from the CEO | Ed.15


The week that was…

This weekend the boys take on the Sunshine Coast Falcons in the first round of elimination finals. This game and our result in reaching the finals is a fitting reward for the team, their efforts and the coaching and support staff who have worked so hard since November the 7th. It’s been a long time between drinks for the clubs and we are certainly looking forward to the game this weekend. I’m sure the boys will be up to the challenge as they have been for the last 25 rounds. It’s a young squad as we know, with the majority of the players re-signing for next year already. It’s very encouraging for the immediate future of the Magpies.

Congratulations also to Shane Boyd and the Colts on their season, while not making the finals the boys had an improved season on 2016, with a lot of the team still eligible for colts in 2018. I am sure that they too can go to the next level in 2018. Consistency and patience is the key at this level and hopefully with the experience gained throughout 2017 we will see the rewards of that next year.

Don’t forget, Sunshine Coast 1.30pm on Sunday, we need your support! I know it’s an effort to drive to the Sunshine Coast however the boys would really appreciate the black and white in the crowd, as we know the Sunshine Coast will be a buzz with atmosphere and supporters.

Until next week…

Jim McClelland | CEO

Finals | Game Times

Game Times | Elimination Finals

For the first time since 2011, the Souths Logan Magpies are heading to the finals! This weekend the boys head up to the Sunshine Coast to take on the Falcons in round 1 of the Elimination Finals. If you can’t make it to the Coast make sure you tune into Channel 9 and watch all the action live from 1.30pm!! The boys would love your support and to see a big crowd of black and white in the stands!

Kick Off: 1.30pm

Location: Sunshine Coast Stadium (31 Sportsman Parade, Bokarina).

Team Lists

Souths Logan Magpies

1. Jamayne Isaako

2. Cameron Booth

3. Lenny Magey

4. Scott Doyle

5. Luke Archer

6. Matt Minto

7. Sam Scarlett

8. AJ Tuimavave

9. Travis Waddell

10. Sam Lavea

11. Brendon Gibb

12. Jaydn Su’A

13. Phil Dennis (c)

14. Jordan Scott

15. Simione Fatafehi

16. Rhys Melville

17. Jordan Mago

18. Jack Anderson

19. Paul Rokolati

20. Matthew Parata

Coach: Jon Buchanan

Sunshine Coast Falcons

1. Jahrome Hughes 2. Matthew Soper-Lawler 3. Christopher Lewis 4. Justin Olam 5. Jeremy Hawkins 6. Scott Drinkwater 7. Ryley Jacks 18. Tui Kamikamica 9. Brandon Smith 10. Liam McDonald 11. Jye Ballinger 12. Dane Hogan (c) 13. Harrison Muller 14. Alex Bishop 15. Lachlan Timm 16. Jon Grieve 17. Martin Cordwell 19. Guy Hamilton 20. Sam Burns 21. Christian Morris

Coach: Craig Ingebrigtsen

Step by step to Grand Final